Cheri's Bookseller Online Network

A community for anyone selling books online, or want to sell books online

Hi,
I just joined the forum today and look forward to exchanging ideas with other booksellers.
I've been considering starting a online bookselling business for several months now. I've had a passion for books and reading for most of my 61 years and find great pleasure in discovering new books at libraries and used book stores. I'm always looking for a great bargain at used book stores rather than paying the overprice costs of new books. There's enough great older books that I haven't read yet.
Not only do I enjoy reading books that fit my eclectic reading habits, but I find pleasure in holding a book, taking in the scent of the pages and the feel of a book in my hands. Sounds crazy, but I'm sure I'm not the only one with this love for and passion for books. I can't image reading a book on something like Kindle.
I've been researching online bookselling for several months and I've read Michale Mould's excellent book, which I found very informative and very instructive in all aspects of selling books online. However, I am dismayed to hear and read of the madness at the FOL book sales with crazed buyers who are rude, pushy and who horde books while checking out their worth. It seems they come with helpers to load books into boxes while they check them out and if you're not there earlier enough, I gather not much of valuable is left after their done. My local has a very small FOL and not many books for sale, so I haven't personal experienced this. Even Michael Mould talks about this issue and at times, has his wife come and watch the boxes of books he is holding so no one else can take them.